Most people are becoming keenly aware of the fact that gluten is no longer recommended as part of a healthy diet plan. In fact, most people are completely shunning this protein, found in wheat, barley, and rye.
Gluten free diets are becoming increasingly popular right now as people believe they can side step inflammation, obesity, heart disease, and many other illnesses by steering clear of the stuff.
If you’re amongst this group of people, bread likely got the axe from your diet months ago. Now, you’re also cutting out pasta, cereals and commercially processed oats. These all clearly contain gluten and should be avoided.
But, did you know that your diet, try as you might to avoid it, could still contain an astounding amount of gluten? Most people don’t realize just how much they are taking in because they just don’t know about all the hidden places that gluten lurks. Truth be told, it is everywhere (or at least seemingly everywhere!).
Ready to be amazed?
Let’s look at 10 sources of gluten that you could very well be consuming right now without even realizing it.
1. Processed Meats
You pick up some low sodium turkey deli meat from the grocery store thinking you’re making a smart choice for your lunch meal. You plan to roll it up with some cucumbers, avocado, a little salt and pepper, and top it off with some mustard for a delicious low carb and gluten free lunch.
But are you really eating gluten free? As it turns out, most deli meats actually contain gluten. Unless the meat specifically says gluten-free, you may want to put it back on the shelf. The reason these meats contain gluten is due to cross contamination. If they’ve been prepared in the same area where say burger patties have been prepared (which will contain breadcrumbs and therefore, gluten), they’re likely to also contain this harmful protein.
A better option is to simply ask for shaved fresh chicken from the deli meat. Most stores have this and you’ll be getting the real thing – not some processed variety.
2. Cream Of Mushroom Soup
Cream of mushroom soup is a fan favorite for sure and may take you back to when you were a kid. But, if you are on a gluten free diet, it’s a soup that definitely needs to be off the menu.
The big problem with cream of mushroom soup is the fact that the soup is very often thickened with flour, which is a primary source of gluten. While you may not get as much gluten as you’d get from say eating a slice of bread, it’s still there and you still need to be aware of it.
Cream based soups are also often high in unhealthy forms of fat as well, so that’s another reason to consider avoiding them.
Even broth based soups you do need to be careful about. Even a few noodles in that soup will invite gluten into the picture and very often, the broth itself may also contain gluten.
To ensure optimal safety from gluten, prepare your own soups instead. This way YOU control what goes into the recipe.
3. Processed Potatoes
Craving some shredded hash browns? Or perhaps you are in need of some delicious scalloped potatoes but just don’t have time to make them from scratch.
Processed potatoes can be a fast and easy option for meal times, especially if you’re a lover of meat and potatoes. The downside?
While potatoes themselves are gluten free, it’s the added ingredients mixed into the packaged potatoes that is not. That is what you have to be concerned with.
4. Soy Sauce
Soy sauce is a common condiment used, especially among those who are looking to cut back on their calories. It’s virtually calorie, fat, and sugar free. A dieter’s dream, right?
The problem with soy sauce however is here again, gluten is making a big appearance. Soy sauce contains wheat therefore it’s going to contain a good dose of gluten in every serving.
Not to mention the sodium content. If you often feel bloated after eating a meal prepared with sodium, this is likely why. Not only is the sodium causing you to retain extra water but the gluten found in soy sauce may also be causing you to deal with that bloated feeling.
A better alternative is to try gluten-free tamari instead, which is available in many specialty food stores or Asian supermarkets. Or, coconut aminos are also a great choice if you can locate them.
5. Salad Dressings
Drizzling some creamy ranch dressing onto your salad? Or perhaps you’re more of an Italian dressing kind of person. Whatever the case, commercially prepared salad dressings almost always contain gluten, so this is something you’ll definitely want to steer clear from.
Instead, opt for preparing your own salad dressing using olive oil along with balsamic vinegar and a combination of fresh herbs and spices.
Salad dressings often contain unfavorable types of fat as well, so that is another reason to do away with them.
Salads themselves are usually healthy but the dressing you use on them may be anything but.
6. Cut The Mustard
Earlier we spoke about your deli meat rolls dipped in tangy mustard. That mustard also poses a problem.
Mustard is often regarded as one of the best condiment options for weight loss because it’s calorie free, sugar free, and virtually sodium free as well. It really doesn’t get much better than that.
But, check the ingredient label. Often the mustard you buy in the supermarket will contain wheat flour, which then contains gluten. Not ideal.
There are mustard varieties out there that don’t contain gluten, so all hope is not lost for this condiment. It just makes it that much more important that you are checking labels to find one that is gluten-free.
7. Instant Coffee
Who doesn’t love to kick-start their day with a cup of coffee? For most people, coffee is essentially a must-have. You may think that there’s nothing wrong with a cup of black coffee and may even think that it helps your weight loss efforts thanks to the fact that it contains caffeine, which offers a nice metabolic boost.
Don’t be fooled however. If instant coffee is your go-to, you could be getting far more gluten than you bargained for.
Many of the popular instant coffee brands contain gluten as a bulking agent in the beverage so you’ll get it in from that. In addition to that, powdered milk also contains wheat so that could also be problematic.
Instead, brew your own coffee. Buy coffee beans and have them ground fresh so that you know you are getting nothing but the real bean.
8. Corn Flakes
You may think that rather than eating your shredded wheat cereal, which clearly contains gluten, you’ll go for some corn flakes instead. After all, corn flakes by nature are made with corn, right?
Usually. But that doesn’t mean they don’t contain other ingredients as well. Usually these cereals will contain malt extract or other traces of wheat, rendering them not gluten free.
This said, if you look at the labels, you can sometimes find boxes of corn flakes that are gluten free, so again, not all hope is lost. Sometimes you can get a breakfast cereal that will work for your gluten free diet plan.
If you like to come home after a stressful day in the office and go for a good beer to relax and unwind, know that you’ll be taking in some gluten in the process. Beer is another rich source of gluten because it’s made from wheat.
In fact, the hops that are used to create beer can actually do a number on testosterone levels in men, so you’ll probably want to think twice about that bottle after each and every work day.
While a beer here and there may be okay, it’s definitely not a good everyday beverage.
Not to mention beer is quite calorie dense, so this can lead to weight problems for many. If you want a gluten free alcohol option, vodka would be a superior choice or any other hard liquor.
This said, keep in mind that no alcohol is generally the absolute best policy as far as your health is concerned.
10. Pre-Seasoned Meats
Finally, the last food that you’ll want to be careful about are any pre-seasoned meats that you may purchase for a quick dinner on the go. These meats are often prepared using herbs and spices that contain gluten, therefore not an ideal option for a gluten-free diet plan.
Seasoning your own meat at home is the best option and this will further help you control the sodium content as well. Also, most of those pre-seasoned meats are sky-high in sodium content so far from ideal for any diet plan anyway.
So there you have it, 10 of the top foods that contain gluten. Did any of these surprise you? How many were you aware of? Are there foods on this list that you’re eating regularly and now need to adjust your diet because of?
Perhaps you don’t want to.
That is okay. The truth is, you don’t have to. Not when you take Gluten Guardian, your gluten solution. With this product, you can still enjoy the taste of gluten-containing foods without the harmful side effects.
Why make good nutrition harder than it has to be? This product will be available soon and when it is, it’ll be life changing for some of you.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Processed meats
- Cream of mushroom soup
- Processed potatoes
- Soy sauce
- Salad dressings
- Instant coffee
- Corn flakes
- Pre-seasoned meats
When shopping for gluten free, you want to check the ingredient label. Avoid all products with wheat, rye, barley, malt, or triticalel. Even if a packaged food product is labeled "gluten-free," you should check for these ingredients as mistakes in labeling may happen. The one exception is wheat starch.
Yes. all varieties of rice are gluten-free.
FDA only allows packaged foods with less than 20ppm of gluten to be labeled “gluten-free.” However, you should still check the ingredients list. It is also important to remember that “wheat-free” does not necessarily mean “gluten-free.”